Żyrardów: Birth of a Modern Town

Zyrardow on the mapMy immigrant ancestors came from many different places. Some came from large capital cities that had very old beginnings and long histories (Warsaw, Poland). Other hometowns were not as large as a city, but they were large market towns born in the 1300’s that continue to have vibrant communities today (Pfaffenhofen an der Ilm, Germany and Mszczonów, Poland). Some of my ancestors came from much smaller places, centuries-old farmlands that evolved from feudal lands to modern villages (Puch, Germany and Komorowo, Poland). But of all the hometowns of my ancestors, the one that first captured my heart isn’t very old at all. In fact, compared to the ancient histories of these other places, it is modern in comparison. Although it lacks a history as long as other European towns, it makes up for it with the interesting way in which it was born. The town is Żyrardów, Poland.

The biography of Żyrardów begins in France. In 1810, the French government had a competition for inventors to create a mechanical linen spinning mill. The prize to the successful inventor was 1 million francs. One enterprising engineer, Philippe de Girard (1775-1845) from Lourmarin, succeeded. But with the fall of Napoleon, France could not pay the prize. Girard’s luck went from bad to worse as he endured debt, business failures, and bankruptcy. But his luck turned in 1825, when the government of the Kingdom of Poland invited him to help create a textile industry in Poland based on his invention.

Zyrardow coat of armsGirard originally opened a factory in Marymont, 2 miles outside of Warsaw, in 1831. For unknown reasons, Girard moved the operation two years later to a small farming village and forested area called Ruda Guzowska, approximately 27 miles WSW of Warsaw. This factory was very successful. More and more workers came to the area, and the settlement grew larger. In Girard’s honor, Ruda Guzowska was renamed Żyrardów. In the Polish language, the letter “ż” is pronounced similarly to the letter “g” in the French language: Żyrardów means “of Girard”. Girard was not able to see the success of his namesake town, however; he died in 1845, a year after returning to France to open more linen factories.

Arial View

Żyrardów continued to thrive in Girard’s absence. The factory was taken over by a pair of German industrialists, and by 1880 they employed 5,600 workers. The town literally grew around the factory building, and today it is one of the best preserved towns to see 19th Century architecture. It resembles a university town, with nearly every building – from the factory, to the apartment-style homes, to the churches and hospital – made from the same red brick. The area grew from a small farming village to an industrial settlement of approximately 175 acres. By 1880 the factory had 16,000 spindles with over 1,650 mechanical looms, and the value of their annual production (in 1880) was 2.2 million Silver Rubles. The former forest and farmland became responsible for the majority of linen production for the Russian Empire by the end of the 19th Century.

Workers in ZyrardowOne unique aspect of the town is that it was multi-cultural. The majority of workers were Poles, but there were also a large number of ethnic Germans working there as well. The factory itself had German managers, and there were also a number of Czechs, Scots, and Irish. The town itself had both a Roman Catholic church and an Evangelical Lutheran church, and there was a thriving Jewish community as well. The Słownik Geograficzny entry from 1895 indicates that the town had 7,126 registered inhabitants by 1880, including 5,134 Catholics, 1,541 Protestants, 244 Jews, and 207 belonging to other denominations.

The town was not without discord, however. Rather than ethnic disputes, there were employment disagreements. The government did not allow unions, but the workers were concerned about working conditions and low wages. There were many strikes at the factory throughout its history, beginning with the first in 1883.

Naturalization for Louis Pater

My Pater family immigrated from this town from 1905-1909; it was the place they called home. They were all weavers, which means they all worked in the factory. I don’t know why they left, but maybe they thought they could earn better wages in the United States. All of them became weavers in Philadelphia’s textile industry. My great-grandfather, Louis (Ludwik) Pater and his father, my 2nd great-grandfather Józef Pater, were born in Żyrardów (Louis in 1893, and Józef in 1864). Józef’s father, Jan, was born in Ruda Guzowska around 1834. Jan’s father Hilary pre-dates Żyrardów’s history and was born in a small village nearby.

RC Church, WiskitkiI had the opportunity to visit Żyrardów in 2001. It was a sudden visit with not enough advance planning, but I was grateful to see the town. My Pater ancestors were baptized and married in the nearby village of Wiskitki, and I was thrilled when my guide was able to sweet-talk the young priest into opening the church for me. My family probably attended this church because the main Catholic church in Żyrardów was not built until 1903. Wiskitki is a settlement that dates from 1221, with the first mention of “town” status in 1349. Over the centuries, the town declined and became smaller. After World War II, Wiskitki and Żyrardów were combined as one district, but in 1975 Wiskitki once again received rights as an independent town.

My Miller / Müller family also immigrated from Żyrardów; however, I have not yet found a birth certificate as proof that anyone was actually born in the town. My research indicates that the Miller family may be among the ethnic Germans from Bohemia that emigrated to the area to work in the textile industry. My great-grandmother’s brother, Emil, immigrated to the United States. In 1910, he and his family returned to Żyrardów – perhaps because of the death of his father. When the first World War broke out, the family could not return. Emil died in Żyrardów. His wife and American-born son later returned to the US, but his Polish-born daughter and American-born daughter remained.

Besides my ancestors, Żyrardów was the birthplace of some more famous citizens, including the Polish writer Paweł Hulka-Laskowski (1881-1946) and former Prime Minister Leszek Miller (b. 1946).

Sources for this article:

[This post was written for the 47th Edition of the Carnival of Genealogy: A Place Called Home.]

15 thoughts on “Żyrardów: Birth of a Modern Town

  1. Excellent article Donna! I knew right away when you mentioned the weaving and linen factories that Żyrardów had to be in the area of Lodz which is famous for its textile industry. My maternal grandfather came from this same area but about 30 miles southwest of Żyrardów as the crow flies.

  2. Donna,

    How wonderful that you had the opportunity to visit Żyrardów in person. Was the rest of the town as colorful as the church?

    Janice

  3. Thanks, Jasia!

    Janice, the yellow church is in Wiskitki nearby. But in Żyrardów all of the buildings are deep red brick!

  4. Hello Donna! I visited Zyrardow this summer and with the aid of my Polish teacher from the states was able to unearth some records and also find my great-grandparents’ grave in the Zyrardow cemetery. Finally, I was even able – through much sleuthing! – to meet up with the last remaining relative from that branch of the family. It was a thrilling adventure, and if you return, I’d suggest scouring the cemetery and talking with the priests at the main church, who have records dating back quite far. Your grandfather’s naturalization paper has dates which will be valuable. It is a fascinating place, isn’t it? — Joan

  5. Bonjour Donna,

    Je suis producteur de fibre de lin dans le Nord de la France. Sur mon website j’ai écrit comment Philippe de Girard à aidé au développement de l’industrie du lin en Europe. J’ai donc fait un lien en direction de votre article qui met en valeur Girardow et également votre ancêtre qui travaillait le lin.

    I am producer of fiber flax in northern France. On my website I wrote how Philippe Girard helped to develop the flax industry in Europe. So I made a link in the direction of your article which highlights Girardow and also that your ancestor worked flax.

  6. Good morning.

    Coincidentally, that I have read your blog. I am a resident Żyrardów, and so happens that I know the family of the name Pater. They live in a municipality Wiskitki direct telephone. Pater Family is: Witold Pater, Pater Teresa, Daniel Pater and Pater Mariola. And here their address and phone number

    DANIEL Pater “SPR-ANT”
    UL SOLAR 7
    96-315 Jesionka
    Province. Masovian

    Telephone: +48 (46) 8569517

  7. Good morning.

    Coincidentally, that I have read your blog. I am a resident Żyrardów, and so happens that I know the family of the name Pater. They live in a municipality Wiskitki direct telephone. Pater Family is: Witold Pater, Pater Teresa, Daniel Pater and Pater Mariola. And here their address and phone number

    DANIEL Pater “SPR-ANT”
    UL Słoneczna7
    96-315 Jesionka
    woj. Mazowieckie

    Telephone: +48 (46) 8569517

  8. Pingback: Setting up the Polish keyboard on a Mac | GenVoyage

  9. Thank you for your wonderful story, and the beautiful pictures.

    I was entering family history information I just received from my Polish researcher. That usually leads me to research the town mentioned in the history.

    My first cousin, once removed, Karol Jozef Seweryn Bistram married Eleanora Karniewska in Zyrardow, I had to wonder if they were married in that beautiful gothic church. I also wondered if any descendants still lived in the area.

    I must put Zyrardow on my itinerary if I can manage one more trip to Poland,

    Such a beautiful country, with wonderfully hospitable people.
    Czesc!

    Dorothy

  10. Hi,

    My father, Roman Konstanty Siennicki, was born in Zyrardow in 1888. His parents, Konstanty Siennicki and Sabina Kurmanowicz, belonged to nobility. I think that they are buried in the Zyrardow Cemetery. Would you know the name of it?

    George Hayward (Jerzy Siennicki)

  11. Donna: Thank you for this post. It is the best history of Zyrardow I read. My family’s roots are in Zyrardow and surrounding country. I will be visiting Zyrardow for the first time in the Spring of 2017. My grandfather and great grandmother immigrated to Philadelphia in early 1900’s. My grandmother Helen Sodos Orlowski had a long term relationship with a man with the last name of Pater. Small world.
    Marcie Orlowski Mancuso

  12. Donna, I loved this article, my great-grandparents also came from Zyrardow to the US. I am having quite a bit of trouble locating any information on them beyond naturalization here in the US, how did you find more info? Interestingly, my great-grandfather was Emil as well.

  13. It depends on the faith. Many of the records are online via Geneteka. See here for Catholic , Jewish, and what’s listed as evangelical is actually Lutheran – http://metryki.genealodzy.pl/metryki.php?op=zs&pw=378. If your ancestors were of the Ewangelical-reformed faith, email me as those records aren’t online but I can put you in touch with someone (this would be if your ancestors have a Czech last name). Note that the Catholic Church was built in Żyrardów in 1893. Prior to that, the parish church was nearby in Wiskitki. See http://geneteka.genealodzy.pl. Send me your surnames, maybe we’re related!

  14. Hi Donna,

    Thank you so much for your response. My great grandparents last names were Kebert & Hampft. I will check out those links you shared as well. As far as faith goes, that’s up for discussion too. There’s some evidence that suggests my great grandmother may have been Jewish, but I’m not sure my great grandfather was. My grandmother, their daughter was supposedly raised Lutheran, although she inexplicably began following the Jewish calendar and customs at the end of her life, after raising her family as Catholic (my grandfather was Catholic).

    I greatly appreciate you taking the time to respond.

    Noreen

Leave a comment